KAMMCO Update on COVID-19:
KAMMCO will maintain full business operations while adhering to CDC and KDHE recommendations regarding COVID-19. All KAMMCO services are still being provided as we remain focused on serving and supporting our members. Click Here for the COVID-19 Resource Page. KAMMCO will be here when you need us.
arrow up

CHN Recognized with 2019 Leadership in Quality Award Sponsored by the KAMMCO Foundation

When he found out Children’s Health Network (CHN) had won the 2019 Leadership in Quality Award, Senior Vice President and CHN Executive Director Bob Finuf knew what they’d do with part of the award’s $5,000 prize money.
Make 23 replicas of the award’s trophy—one for each of Children’s Health Network’s participating practices.
“It’s the practices that have done the heavy lift in order to achieve the aggregate results that we have realized so far. It’s their work this award recognizes," Finuf said.
The Leadership in Quality awards are presented annually by the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative and the Kansas Foundation for Medical Care, Inc. to health care providers and health care organizations to recognize leadership in quality improvement and patient safety. A cash prize of $5,000 is presented to the grand prize winner, thanks to the generous sponsorship of the KAMMCO Foundation.
The awards were presented at the 2019 Summit on Quality in Wichita by Jerry Slaughter on behalf of the KAMMCO Foundation board of directors.
“KAMMCO Foundation is proud to recognize and reward the quality improvement efforts of Kansas health care providers,” Slaughter said. “The providers nominated and selected for the awards are truly leaders and innovators in improving the health of communities, enhancing the experience of patients, and helping reduce overall cost of care.”
2019 Physician Champion Award winner
This year, the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative also recognized its first Physician Champion; the award reflects the important role physicians play in the quality improvement process and honors an individual who has consistently empowered others on the improvement journey. The 2019 Physician Champion honoree is Dr. Craig Concannon, an internal medicine physician at Beloit Medical Center.
2019 Award of Merit Recipients
Nora Elizalde is one of two honorees for the 2019 Award of Merit. She is a certified nurse midwife at Bob Wilson Memorial Hospital in Ulysses. In nominating her, Nora's colleagues praised her for ensuring expanded access to high-quality prenatal and delivery services across southwest Kansas and the Oklahoma panhandle.

Niki Lamb also received the 2019 Award of Merit. She is a registered nurse and director of quality assurance, infection control, and risk management at Sumner County Hospital District #1 in Caldwell. In nominating her, Niki’s colleagues praised her for continually going above and beyond on behalf of patients. Her colleagues remarked that “Niki’s passion for the health and wellness of others permeates our facility and our community.”
The Leadership in Quality awards are presented annually by the Kansas Healthcare Collaborative and the Kansas Foundation for Medical Care, Inc. at the Summit on Quality in Wichita. More information on the Leadership in Quality awards—including updates on the call for nominations for the 2020 awards—is available at: KHConline.org/leadershipinquality.

CLICK HERE to sign up for our quarterly newsletter.